Tuesday, April 22, 2014

Review: The Kraken King Part I: The Kraken King and the Scribbling Spinster

Review: The Kraken King (Part I: The Kraken King and the Scribbling Spinster)
By: Meljean Brook
Released April 15, 2014
Source: Review copy provided by NetGalley for review.

The Kraken King is apart of Meljean Brook's Iron Seas Series and is being published as a serial novel in 8 installments. This is my first serial novel, so for others like me we can see if we like this format or not. Every week for 2 months a new installment with be released. Each installment is $1.99 so financially it comes out more than a novel but please visit Meljean Brook's blog for her explanation here.

This story has two very strong, likable characters. I have wanted a story for Zenobia since we met her as Archimedes sister. She is an unique, independent woman who doesn't need a man to fulfill her life but when one as bold and brave as Ariq rescues her she falls quick.  I enjoyed the dynamic that their relationship has. Both have secrets and people they need to protect, yet they are both intrigued by each other and want to uncover the others secrets without revealing their own. They are both very blunt so I enjoyed the dialogue between them. I want to see where their relationship heads.

I won't find it a hardship to order the all the future installments to my kindle. The amazon Pre-order with 1 click button is my new DVR. I want the next installments as soon as they are released if this first installment is anything to go by. This story is just another reason why I love the Iron Seas series and Meljean Brook is one of my favorite authors.

A former smuggler and thief, Ariq—better known as the Kraken King—doesn’t know what to make of the clever, mysterious woman he rescues from an airship besieged by marauders. Unsure if she’s a spy or a pawn in someone else’s game, Ariq isn’t about to let her out of his sight until he finds out…

After escaping her fourth kidnapping attempt in a year, Zenobia Fox has learned to vigilantly guard her identity. While her brother Archimedes is notorious for his exploits, Zenobia has had no adventures to call her own—besides the stories she writes. But when she jumps at the chance to escape to the wilds of Australia and acquire research for her next story, Zenobia quickly discovers that the voyage will be far more adventurous than any fiction she could put to paper…

Book Four in the Iron Seas Series: The Kraken King
            I. The Kraken King and the Scribbling Spinster
            II. The Kraken King and the Abominable Worm
            III. The Kraken King and the Fox’s Den
            IV. The Kraken King and the Inevitable Abduction
            V. The Kraken King and the Iron Heart
            VI. The Kraken King and the Crumbling Walls
            VII. The Kraken King and the Empress’s Eyes
            VIII. The Kraken King and the Greatest Adventure